Paul’s Job For Jesus

Then, under the watchful eye of the Roman commander, Paul explained to the crowd how he had met Jesus (303).

“As I was on my way to Damascus, suddenly a great light from heaven shined all around me.  I fell to the ground & heard a voice saying to me, ‘Saul, why are you persecuting me?’

damascus-road

“Astonished, I asked, ‘Who are you?’  And he said, ‘I am Jesus of Nazareth.’  My travelling companions also saw the light, but they didn’t hear the voice.

“Then I asked: ‘What shall I do, Master?’  And Jesus said to me, ‘Go into Damascus, and you will be told what I want you to do.’  Since I had been blinded by the heavenly light, my companions had to lead me into Damascus.

“There, I was met by Ananias — a devout man according to the law of Moses, who was highly regarded by all the Jews in Damascus.  Ananias said to me, ‘Brother Saul, receive your sight.’  Instantly, I looked up & saw him!

220px-Saint_Paul_Ananias_Sight_Restored

“Then Ananias said, ‘God chose you to see & hear Jesus. Now God chooses you to witness to all men what you have seen & heard.  Come & be baptized in the name of Jesus to wash away your sins & to be filled with the Holy Spirit.’

“When I returned to Jerusalem & was praying in the temple, Jesus came to me in a vision & said:  ‘Leave Jerusalem, for they will not receive your testimony of me.’

“I protested, ‘Master, every Jew in Jerusalem knows that I used to persecute Christians. Why, when Stephen was stoned to death, I stood by, consenting to his death & guarding the clothes of those who were killing him!  Surely because I’m one of them, they will listen to me.’

But Jesus again said to me, ‘No, you must leave Jerusalem.  I am sending you far away to invite Gentiles into my kingdom.'”

 

(303) Acts 22:6-21