Mary & Elizabeth

Soon afterward, Mary left Galilee & went to visit her cousin, Elizabeth, in Judea (8).  She went to Zechariah’s home and greeted Elizabeth.

When Elizabeth heard Mary’s greeting, her baby moved inside her! Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit and exclaimed to Mary: “You are the most blessed of all women, and the baby inside you is blessed. As soon as I heard your greeting, my baby actually jumped inside me!  It is awesome that you have come to visit me.

“Mary, you are being blessed by God because you believe what the angel told you. Now God will make all these things happen.”

maryandelizabeth2

Then Mary prayed, “My heart praises God, and my soul is glad because God has saved me.  He remembers me, even though I am his lowly servant. From now on all people will call me blessed, because of the great things that God has done for me.

“God’s name is holy.  He always shows mercy to those who honor him. With his mighty arm he has scattered the proud with all their plans. He has brought down mighty kings from their thrones.

“But God lifts up the lowly. He fills the hungry with good things, and he sends the rich away empty-handed.

“God has kept the promise he made to our ancestors, and he has come to help his chosen people, Israel. He has remembered to show mercy to Abraham & to all his descendants forever.”

magnificat-3

Mary stayed about three months with Elizabeth & Zechariah, and then she went back home to Nazareth.

(8) Luke 1:39-56