Woman At A Well

Later, the Pharisees heard that Jesus was winning and baptizing more students than John the Baptizer(31). And Jesus heard that John had been put in prison. So Jesus left Judea and started back toward Galilee to preach the good news from God to the people there.

On his way to Galilee, however, Jesus passed through Samaria & came to a town named Sychar, which was near the field that Jacob had given to his son, Joseph, many hundreds of years earlier. Jacob’s well was there, and Jesus sat down by the well to rest.

When a Samaritan woman came to draw some water from the well, Jesus asked her for a drink of water. (His students had gone into town to buy food.) The woman answered, “You are obviously a Jew, and I am a Samaritan, so why are you asking me for a drink? You people never use the same cups and bowls that we use!”

5-jesus-and-samaritan-woman-well4

Jesus answered, “If you only knew what God can give you and who I am, you’d be asking me for a drink, and I’d offer you the water of new life.” Skeptically, the woman replied, “But you don’t even have a bucket, and this well is pretty deep. How could you get that life-giving water?”

Pressing him, she went on: “We got this well from our ancestor, Jacob; he and his sons and his flocks all drank from it. You don’t claim to be greater than Jacob, do you?”

Jesus answered the woman in an unexpected way: “Anyone who drinks this well water will definitely be thirsty again. But anyone who drinks the water I give will never be thirsty again! The water I give becomes a spring, which will keep on providing you the water of new life — life that will continue forever, even after physical death!”

livingwater2

“Sir,” the woman said, “I need that water! I don’t want to be thirsty again, and I don’t want to come here to draw water again.”

Testing her, Jesus said, “Go get your husband and then come back.” “But I don’t have a husband,” the woman replied.

008-jesus-samaritan-woman

In response to her honesty, Jesus revealed his deep knowledge of the woman’s soul: “I know you don’t have a husband.  You’ve been married to five different men, but you’re not married to the man you live with now.”

 

(31) Matthew 4:12, Mark 1:14, John 4:1-18