The Mission: A Cross For Everyone

Jesus concluded giving his witnesses their mission (80):

Don’t think that I have come to bring peace to the world. No, I came to bring division to the world. Your testimonies about me will set family members against one another; sometimes, your worst enemies will be the members of your own family. Whoever loves family members more than me is not fit to be my friend.

And whoever doesn’t take up his own personal cross and follow in my steps is not fit to be my friend. If you try to preserve your life on earth, you will ultimately lose it; but if you will lose your life on earth for my sake, you will have life preserved forever in heaven.

Cross

Whoever welcomes you welcomes me; and whoever welcomes me welcomes God who sent me.

Whoever welcomes God’s messenger because he is God’s messenger, will share in his reward; whoever welcomes God’s servant because he is God’s servant, will share in his reward.

And whoever gives even a drink of cold water to one of the least of my students, just because he is my student, will certainly receive a reward.

philip

When Jesus had finished instructing them, the witnesses went out & did exactly as they had been told.

  • They preached that people should turn away from their sins.
  • They expelled many evil spirits.
  • They anointed many sick people with oil and healed them.

 

(80) Matthew 10:34-42, Mark 6:12-13, Luke 9:6