Repent & Rest

When the people in the towns where he had performed most of his miracles did not stop sinning, Jesus gave them this severe rebuke (82):

galilee

“How terrible it will be for you, people of Chorazin! How terrible for you, too, people of Bethsaida! If the miracles which I did in your presence had been done in sinful towns like Tyre and Sidon, the people there would have stopped sinning long ago. On the day of judgment, God will show more mercy to the people of Tyre and Sidon than to you!

“And as for you, people of Capernaum, you hoped to lift yourselves up to heaven, but you will be thrown down to hell. If the miracles which I did in your presence had been done in a sinful town like Sodom, it would still be in existence today. On the day of judgment, God will show more mercy to the people of Sodom than to you!”

Jesus paused & prayed, “Father, God of heaven and earth, thank you for showing to simple, uneducated people what you have hidden from wise, over-educated people.  I know that you wanted things this way.”

Then Jesus said to those who were still with him, “My Father has given me all things. No one truly knows me except God, and no one truly knows God except me — and those to whom I choose to reveal him.

“So come to me, all of you who are tired from carrying heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Place your heavy burdens on me.”

“In return I will place on you a burden that is light & easy to bear.  You will receive rest for your souls, by learning gentleness &  humbleness of spirit.”

 

(82) Matthew 11:20-30