What God Wants

Next day, some of the people who had been fed by Jesus took boats & crossed the lake to look for him (89).  They found Jesus in the synagogue in Capernaum, and they asked, “Teacher, how did you get here?”  As he often did, Jesus ignored that issue & addressed their real issue.

christ-teaches-i-am-the-bread-of-life-small

“I know you’re looking for me because you’re hungry for more bread, not for more of God. But don’t seek food that spoils; instead, seek food that will give you new life – life that will continue in heaven forever, even after physical death. This is the food which God gives in me & which I give to you.”

Some of the people asked him, “What does God want us to do?” Jesus answered, “God wants you to believe in me.  I’ll take it from there.

Faith

“But what miracle will you do,” they said, “so we can believe you? After all, Moses wrote that even our ancestors ate bread from heaven, when God gave them manna in the desert.”

Jesus replied, “God gives you the real bread from heaven, and I am the bread that God gives.  Anyone who comes to me will never be hungry; anyone who believes in me will never be thirsty.

“I will never turn away anyone who comes to me.  But none of you will come to me unless God has willed it; I have come to do only what God has willed.

“On the last day, I will restore physical life to everyone who has come to me.

Repentance

“What God wants is for you to experience real life — life that will continue in heaven forever, even after your physical death.”

 

(89) John 6:22-40