No Turning Back

Many of the people following Jesus, when they heard the teaching about flesh & blood communion, said, “This teaching is too hard. Who can understand this?” (91).

Jesus knew that they were grumbling again, so he said to them, “Do you want to give up? Do you need to see me go back to heaven in order to be convinced?

“Only God’s Spirit gives real life; it’s impossible to find real life in the strength of your flesh.  What I’m teaching you is what gives you access to God’s life-giving Spirit.

Dove

“But I understand that some of you won’t believe me.”  Jesus always knew which ones wouldn’t believe and which one would betray him. Then Jesus added, “This is why I said that no one can come to me unless the Father has willed it.”

After all this, many of Jesus’ students turned back & would not follow him anymore. So Jesus asked his twelve chosen witnesses, “Would you also like to leave?” Peter answered him, “Master, to whom would we go? We believe & know that you are the Savior who has come from God.  Only you have the words that promise real life.”

eternal-life

Later, Jesus told them, “I chose the twelve of you to be my witnesses.  But now I have to tell you that one of you still refuses to believe in me.” He was talking about Judas Iscariot, who would ultimately betray him.

 

(91) John 6:60-71