Leading By Following

Jesus then set out on his way to Jerusalem, travelling through Samaria (104).

He sent messengers ahead of him, who went into a village in Samaria to get everything ready for him. But the people there wouldn’t receive Jesus; they told him to keep on going to Jerusalem!

When James & John saw this, they said, “Master, do you want us to call fire down from heaven to destroy them, like Elijah did?” But Jesus turned and rebuked them, saying “You still don’t understand God’s heart.  I’ve come to rescue people from sin, not to destroy them.”

Rescue

As Jesus & his students went on their way, various people considered following him.  In response to them all, Jesus repeatedly stressed the necessity of  total devotion to God.

One man came to Jesus & said, “I will follow you wherever you go.” But Jesus questioned whether he had truly counted the cost of his claim: “You know that foxes have holes and birds have nests, but do you know that I & my followers have no such home here on earth?”

no-place-to-lay-his-head (1)

Jesus saw that another man wanted to commit his life to serving God, so he said to that man, “Follow me.” But the man replied, “Sir, first let me go back and bury my father.” Then Jesus said to him, “Don’t be overcome by physical death. Call people to submit their lives to God; that’s the only way people can overcome physical death.”

lne_wcmm_ldwmm_1997_6628_large-570x411

Another man said, “I will follow you, but first let me go and say good-bye to my family.” And Jesus said to him, “Anyone who becomes a member of God’s family, and then keeps looking back at his worldly family, is of no use to God.”

Philippians-3-14-I-Press-Towards-The-Goal-blue-copy

 

(104) Luke 9:51-62