To God Be The Glory

When the Festival of Booths was nearly half over, Jesus went to the temple and began teaching (106). The Jewish authorities were greatly surprised at his wisdom and said, “How does this man know so much, when he’s never been to school?”

Jesus answered them:  “I’m not teaching you things I just make up; I’m teaching you what God wants me to teach you.  When you’re willing to do what God wants you to do, then you’ll know that I’m telling you exactly what God wants me to say.

36315_all_15-01-JesusTeaching

“If I was teaching you things I just made up, I’d be seeking glory for myself. But since I want God to get the glory, you should understand that I’m telling you God’s truth; there are no lies in my teaching.

“Moses gave you God’s law, didn’t he? But you don’t obey that law.” Then Jesus asked a question to gauge the people’s awareness of their relations with God: “Why are you trying to kill me?” People in the crowd answered, “You must have an evil spirit in you; no one is trying to kill you!”

Jesus continued, “I did one miracle here, and you were all offended because it happened on a Sabbath.

Sabbath Healing

“Yet you don’t hesitate to circumcise a baby boy on the Sabbath. If a baby boy can be circumcised on the Sabbath, and that doesn’t violate Moses’ law, why are you angry with me because I made a man completely well on the Sabbath?”

Jesus concluded, “Stop judging by worldly standards, and start judging by God’s standards.”

 

(106) John 7:14-24