From God, To God

Some of the people of Jerusalem were confused about Jesus (107).   “Isn’t this the man the authorities want to kill? But here he is talking in public, and they’re saying nothing against him. Do you think they believe that he’s the Messiah?  But that can’t be, because when the Messiah comes, no one will know where he’s from.  And we all know where this man comes from.”

Jesus responded boldly to the people at the temple, saying, “Do you really know me and where I’m from? I’m not here on my own authority. God sent me, and God is truthful. You don’t really know God, but I know him because he sent me.”

Jerusalem

Some of the people in the crowd were offended & tried to seize Jesus.  But they couldn’t lay a hand on him, because his hour had not yet come.

Other people in the crowd believed in Jesus and said, “This man’s miracles have convinced us that he is the Messiah.”

When the Pharisees learned that more people were acknowledging Jesus as the Messiah, they petitioned the chief priests to send guards to the temple to arrest him.

But when the Jewish authorities arrived at the temple with the guards, Jesus simply continued teaching: “I shall be with you a little while longer, and then I shall return to God who sent me. You will look for me, but you won’t find me, because you cannot go where I will be.”

This completely confused the Jewish authorities — supposedly the wisest & most godly men in Jerusalem.  They said among themselves: “Where is he going that we won’t be able to find him? Will he go to teach Jewish people living in far-off Greek cities?

confuse 1

“And when he says that we’ll look for him but won’t find him, and that we can’t go where he will be, what does he mean by that?”

confuse 2

 

(107) John 7:25-36