Light Shining In Darkness

Speaking later with the Pharisees in the temple treasury room (110), Jesus declared, “I am the light of the world.  Anyone who follows me will have the light of life and will never walk in darkness.”

light

The Pharisees replied, “You’re testifying on your own behalf; that proves nothing.”

Jesus answered, “What I testify is true, because I came from heaven and will return to heaven. You’ve never been to heaven; you judge as humans.  I judge no one now; when it is time for me to judge, my judgment will be true because God is with me.

“It is written in your law that whenever two witnesses agree, their testimony is true.

TwoWitnessesFire700

“So, I testify for myself, and God also testifies for me.

“You don’t really know me, and you don’t really know God.  If you really knew me, you would really know God also.”

Although Jesus said all this publicly in the temple, no one arrested him because his hour had not come.

 

(110) John 8:12-20