Jesus Helps A Blind Man See

As Jesus was walking through Jerusalem on the Sabbath, he saw a man who had been born blind (114). His students asked him, “Teacher, whose sin caused this man to be born blind: his own sin or his parents’ sin?” Jesus answered, “His blindness wasn’t caused either by his sin or by his parents’ sins. He has been blind since birth so that God’s power can now be seen at work in him.

“As long as it is day, I must do the work of God in this world; but night is coming when no one will do God’s work in this world. As long as I’m in the world, I am light for the world.”

Then Jesus mixed his saliva with a little dirt to make mud.  He rubbed the mud on the man’s eyes and told him, “Go and wash your face in the Pool of Siloam.”

002-blind-man

So the man went, washed his face, and then he could see!

Blind Man Siloam

People who had seen him before as a blind beggar asked, “Isn’t this the man who used to sit and beg?” Some said, “Yes, he’s the one.”  But others said, “No he’s not; he just looks like him.” Then the man himself insisted, “I am that man!”

“How have you become able to see?” they asked him. The man replied, “Jesus made some mud, rubbed it on my eyes, and told me to go to Siloam and wash my face. So I went, and as soon as I washed, I could see!”

“Where is Jesus?” they asked. “I don’t know,” he answered.

(114) John 9:1-12