Jesus Helps Us All See God

When Jesus heard that the Pharisees had expelled from the temple the man whose blindness he had healed, he went to find the man (117).  “Do you believe in the Messiah?” Jesus asked.  The man answered, “Tell me who he is, sir, so that I can believe in him.” Jesus said to him, “I am the Messiah.” “I believe, Master!” the man said, and he knelt down before Jesus.

Blind Man Worships

Jesus then told the man, “All people will be judged in response to my coming into the world.  Some, who have been blind to God, will now be able to see God.

“But some, who thought they were seeing God clearly, will have their blindness about God exposed.”

Some Pharisees who were nearby heard him say this and asked him, “Surely you don’t mean that we are blind, too?”

Pharisees question parents of formerly blind man

Jesus answered, “If you had admitted that you were blind to God before I came among you, then you would be innocent in God’s eyes now.

“But since you still claim to see God clearly apart from me, you remain guilty in God’s eyes.”

 

(117) John 9:35-41