Holding On To This World

At Jesus was teaching, a man in the crowd interrupted him (128):

“Teacher, tell my brother to divide with me the property our father left us.”

Jesus answered him, “Listen, I have not come to pass judgment in matters such as the division of inherited property. Besides, you must guard yourselves against every kind of greed.  Your real life is not defined by the things you own, no matter how rich you are.”

Then Jesus emphasized his warning with this story.

“Once there was a rich farmer whose land yielded very good crops.

003-rich-fool

So he thought to himself, ‘I need to build bigger barns to store all my grain and other crops. Then I can take life easy; I can eat, drink, and be merry!’

Grain

But God said to that farmer, ‘You fool! Your life in this world will end tonight; then who will get all these things you have stored up for yourself?'”

Jesus concluded, “That’s how it goes for people who pile up worldly riches, but never seek the riches of God.”

 

(128) Luke 12:13-21