Jerusalem In Jeopardy

About that same time some Pharisees tried a new tactic to get rid of Jesus (136).  They said to him, “You need to get out of here and go somewhere else, because King Herod wants to kill you!”

But Jesus saw through their trick, and he certainly didn’t fear Herod.  Instead Jesus answered, “Go and tell that fox that I’ll keep on expelling evil spirits & healing people until I’ve finished my work for God.”

fox

Jesus then expressed great sorrow because the Jewish religious leaders in Jerusalem stubbornly refused to believe in him: “Now I must continue on my way toward Jerusalem, for prophets are always killed in Jerusalem.

“How many times I wanted to put my arms around all the people of that great city, just as a hen gathers her chicks under her wings, but they wouldn’t let me!

chicks-under-wings

“And so the temple in Jerusalem will be abandoned by God.  And the people of Jerusalem will not see God, until they acknowledge that I have been sent from God.”

 

(136) Luke 13:31-35