Invitations

Then Jesus turned to his host (138).  “When you give a lunch or a dinner, don’t invite your friends or your brothers or your relatives or your rich neighbors.  You know they will all return the favor, and you’ll be paid back.

“Instead, when you give a feast, invite people who are poor or paralyzed or blind.  God will bless you for this, precisely because those guests are not able to pay you back.  God himself will repay you on the day of judgment.”

invitations

When one of the men sitting at the table heard this, he said to Jesus, “How happy are those who will sit down to feast with God in heaven!” Jesus then told this story, to emphasize that we must accept God’s invitation to that heavenly feast.

“There was once a man who was giving a great feast, to which he invited many people. When everything was ready, he sent his servant to call the guests.

“But they all sent excuses. One said, ‘I’ve bought a field and I must go look at it; please accept my apologies.’ Another said, ‘I’ve bought some oxen and I need to go check them out; please accept my apologies.’  Another one said, ‘I just got married, so you know I can’t come.’

excuses

“The servant went back and told all this to his master. The master was furious at all the excuses.  He told his servant, ‘Go & invite people who are poor or paralyzed or blind.’

“When he had done that, the servant reported, ‘There is still room for more guests.’  So then his master told him: ‘Then bring strangers in, so that my house will be full for the feast.

“But definitely do not admit any of those people I originally invited!'”

 

(138) Luke 14:12-24