Going Once . . .

Another time, Jesus told this story about wealth to his students (142).

“Once there was a rich man who had a servant who managed his property. The rich master was told that this servant was wasting his money, so he called him in & said, ‘Turn in a complete account of your property management, because if what I’ve been told is true, you cannot manage my property any longer!’

“The servant thought, ‘My master is going to fire me!  Now what do I do? I’m not strong enough for manual labor, and I won’t stoop to begging . . .’   Then he had an idea. He began meeting with people who were in debt to his master.

dishonest-steward

“He asked the first one, ‘How much do you owe my master?’  ‘One hundred barrels of olive oil,’ he answered. ‘Here is your account,’ the manager told him, ‘adjusted down to fifty barrels of olive oil.’

“Then he asked another one, ‘How much do you owe?’ ‘A thousand bushels of wheat,’ he answered. ‘Here is your account,’ the manager told him, ‘adjusted down to eight hundred bushels of wheat.’

“When the master eventually caught on to what was happening, he had to admit that his servant had been very shrewd.”

Jesus went on to say, “Worldly people typically handle their worldly business more shrewdly that godly people do.

“But as godly people, you can learn a lesson here.

“Make friends for yourselves with your worldly wealth; give it away to people who really need it.

generosity

“When it’s all gone & you’re flat broke, your generosity will be praised among your friends in heaven!”

 

(142) Luke 16:1-9