Saved From Money

In Jericho, Jesus had one final encounter (160).  Zacchaeus, a wealthy chief tax collector there, wanted to see Jesus.  But he was a short man & couldn’t get a good look at Jesus over the crowd. So Zacchaeus ran on ahead & climbed a sycamore tree, still hoping to see Jesus when he passed by.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When Jesus came by, he looked up into the tree & said, “Come on down, Zacchaeus.  I’m going to visit your home today.” Zacchaeus hurried down the tree & welcomed Jesus with great joy.

Zacchaeus 2

The people in the crowd hated tax collectors, so when they saw this they started grumbling: “How can Jesus go as a guest to the home of a sinner like Zacchaeus?”

But Zacchaeus stood up & said to Jesus, “Listen, sir, I will give half my belongings to the poor.  And if I have cheated anyone, I will pay him back four times as much.”

needle 2

Jesus said to Zacchaeus, “Salvation has come to your house today.  I have come to seek & save lost descendants of Abraham, just like you.”

 

(160) Luke 19:1-10