Growing God’s Kingdom

Next, Jesus told a story about how to remain ready for his return — by service that actually grows God’s kingdom (180).

“Once there was a man who was going on a trip; he left certain of his servants in charge of his funds. He assigned funds to each one according to his ability.  To one he gave five thousand gold coins, to another he gave two thousand, and to another he gave one thousand. Then he left on his trip.

“The servant with five thousand coins invested the money & earned another five thousand. The servant who had received two thousand coins invested the money & earned another two thousand. But the servant with one thousand coins simply hid his master’s money in a safe place.

“Eventually, the master came back to settle accounts with the servants. First, the servant with five thousand coins reported that he had earned another five thousand. ‘Well done, you good & faithful servant!’ said his master. ‘Because you have been faithful in managing small amounts of my money, I will put you in charge of managing larger amounts. I want you to be happy about this, as I am.’

good

“Next, the servant with two thousand coins reported that he had earned another two thousand.  ‘Well done, you good & faithful servant!’ said his master. ‘Because you have been faithful in managing small amounts of my money, I will put you in charge of managing larger amounts. I want you to be happy about this, as I am.’

“Last, the servant with one thousand coins came in and said, ‘Sir, I know you are a hard man & I didn’t want to disappoint you.  I hid your money in a safe place, so now I can return your money to you.’

bad

‘That’s a terrible report!’ his master said. ‘You should at least have deposited my money in the bank, so it would have earned some interest while I was gone.’

“Then the master took back the one thousand coins & gave them to the servant with ten thousand coins.  And the master explained,

  • ‘Everyone whose service grows my kingdom will be given more responsibility & opportunity.
  • But everyone whose service does not grow my kingdom will have responsibility & opportunity taken away.’

“Then the master said of the last servant: ‘Throw this useless man outside in the darkness & let him grind his teeth in pain.'”

 

(180) Matthew 25:14-30