The Way: Lead By Serving

Jesus knew that the hour had come for him to leave this world and return to God (187). But it was hard, because he dearly loved the chosen witnesses who had stayed with him for three years.

Jesus rose from the table, took a towel, and poured some water into a basin.  Then he began to wash the feet of his students.

jesus-washing-the-feet-of-his-disciples

Peter was surprised & asked Jesus, “Are you going to wash my feet, Master?” Jesus replied, “You don’t understand now what I’m doing, but you will understand soon.”

Peter declared, “But it’s not right for you to wash my feet!” “If you won’t learn this lesson,” Jesus said, “you will no longer be my student.”

Peter immediately changed his tune: “Master, don’t just wash my feet! Wash my hands & head, too!” But Jesus replied, “No, it’s only necessary that your feet be washed.”

After Jesus had washed their feet, he returned to his place at the table. “Do you understand what I have just done to you? You call me teacher & master, and that is what I am.

“So, if I, your teacher & master, have just washed your feet, then you must be willing to wash one another’s feet. I have set an example for you; you must serve others as I have served you.

Helping-others

“No slave is greater than his master, and no messenger is greater than the one who sent him.

“Now that you have been taught this, you must put it into practice.  You must serve others as I have served you.”

 

(187) John 13:1-17

Feel free to leave a comment.

