The Way: How To Be Joyful

In the gardens on the Mount of Olives, Jesus continued teaching the eleven chosen witnesses (194).

“I am the true vine, the real vine, and God is the gardener. God breaks off every branch of mine that does not bear fruit.  And God trims every branch of mine that does bear fruit, so that it will be able to bear even more fruit. Now, you have been trimmed already by the things I have taught you, so you are definitely ready to bear much fruit.

“Stay connected to me, and I will stay connected to you. This is very important, because you know a branch can’t bear fruit by itself; it can only bear fruit if it stays connected to the vine. In the same way, you can’t bear fruit unless you stay connected to me. As long as we stay connected, you will be able to bear much fruit.

vine

“But anyone who doesn’t stay connected to me will wither & die.  When that happens to branches, they are gathered up and thrown into the fire.

“If you stay connected to me & if you remember all that I’ve taught you, then you will receive whatever you ask for. God’s glory is revealed when you bear much fruit, so God will give you whatever will help you do that.

“I love you completely, the same way that God loves me.  I’m telling you this because I want you to experience the same joy in my love that I experience in God’s love.

The way you stay connected to my love & experience this joy is by doing the things I’ve told you. That’s exactly how I stay connected to God – by doing the things he has told me.”

 

(194) John 15:1-11