The Way: Truth & Choice

Then Jesus told his friends a little more about the work of the Holy Spirit in the world (197).

“I didn’t tell you these things before, because I was still here with you. But now it’s time for me to go back to God who sent me.

Ascension

“I know it’s not easy for you to ask me about this, because your hearts are full of sadness. But please believe this: it’s better for you that I leave you, so God’s Holy Spirit can come to you.  The Holy Spirit of God is powerful.

“When the Spirit comes, he will show people the truth about sin & righteousness & God’s judgment – which is basically this:

  • People sin against God by hanging on to their old independent self-lives.
  • People become right with God by letting go of those old lives & embracing the new life which I offer them.
  • And all people, including the ruler of this world, will be judged for the choices they make between the old life & the new life.

choose

“There is always much more for you to learn about God, but this is enough for now.  When the Spirit comes, he will reveal to you more & more truth about God.

“He won’t speak on his own authority; instead, he will give me glory by speaking to you what I tell him, all of which I have received from God.”

 

(197) John 16:4-15

Feel free to leave a comment.

