The Way: Living With God

Jesus challenged his friends to embrace living with God (199).

“Up till now, I have often used figures of speech to tell you things about God. But the time has come for me to speak to you plainly about God.  It’s time for you to go on living with God.   It’s time for each of you to have your own very direct & very personal relationship with God.  God loves each one of you very much.

relationship 1

“God loves you  — because you love me & because you have believed that I came from God. I did come from God into the world, and now it’s time for me to leave the world & return to God.”

His friends replied to Jesus, “But now you are speaking plainly, without using figures of speech; now we understand you.  We really do believe that you came from God.”

Jesus answered them, “Do you believe now? Remember, the time has come for all of you to be scattered, and for me to be left all alone. But I’m never really alone, because God is always with me.

“I have been telling you all these things so that, whenever you feel all alone, you will have the same powerful peace that God gives to me.  God will always be with you, too.

“In the tribulation of this world, you will experience suffering.

relationship 3

“But you can be peaceful through it all, knowing that I have overcome the world.”

relationship 2

 

(199) John 16:25-33

Feel free to leave a comment.

