The Way: Pray For Witnesses

Jesus continued praying in the presence of his friends (201).

“Father, I have inspired these chosen witnesses to know you. They are your created children, whom you gave to me.  And now they understand that you are the giver of everything. They understand that even I have been given to them by you.  They truly believe that you sent me.

“These witnesses have done what I taught them.  I gave them your message & they received it.  So now I pray, not for the whole world, but specifically for these witnesses –that my glory may be shown to the whole world, through them.

witness 1

witness 3

witness 4

“When I have returned to you, I will no longer be in the world, but they will still be in the world. By your power, please keep them safe.  Keep them united, just as you & I are united.

“While I have been with them, I have kept them safe & not one of them has been lost — except the man who was determined to be lost, so that the inspired scriptures would be fulfilled.

“I pray especially that these witnesses will be strengthened by having my complete joy in their hearts.  They need strength because I have given them your message, and the world hates them for it.  The world hates them because they don’t belong to the world, just as I don’t belong to the world. But I’m not asking you to deliver them out of the world; I’m asking you to keep them strong & safe from Satan, as long as they remain in the world.

“Please continue using the truth of the inspired scriptures to keep them dedicated to you. I’m sending them into the world, just as you sent me into the world. For their sake, I renew my dedication to you.  I pray  that my example will inspire them to remain truly dedicated to you.”

 

(201) John 17:6-19