Arrest

Judas Iscariot, accompanied by armed guards, came into the garden (204).  Judas had given the guards a signal: “The man I kiss is the one you want to arrest.”  When Judas went to Jesus & kissed him, Jesus looked directly into his heart & asked, “Do you betray me with a kiss?”  Immediately, Judas began to question himself.

betrayal

Jesus already knew everything that was going to happen to him.  He stepped forward and asked the guards: “Who is it you are looking for?” “Jesus of Nazareth,” they answered. “I am he,” said Jesus.

When Jesus simply spoke these words to them, the guards staggered back & fell to the ground! Then Jesus said, “If you’re looking for me, then let these others go” – because he did not want to lose any of his friends.

Suddenly, his friends realized that Jesus was about to be arrested,  They asked, “Shall we use our swords, Master?” Without waiting for an answer, Peter drew his sword & cut off the ear of a guard named Malchus!

Jesus rebuked Peter, “Put your sword back in its place. All who live by the sword will die by the sword.

“I could call on God for help, and he would send me twelve armies of angels. But if I did that, how could the inspired scriptures, which tell of all this, be fulfilled?  I must drink the cup of suffering which God has given me.”

Then Jesus touched the ear of Malchus & healed him!

malchus

Jesus chided the other guards: “Did you have to come with swords & clubs to capture me, as though I were an outlaw?  You could easily have arrested me when I was teaching in the temple every day.”

Then, speaking to no one & everyone, Jesus said quietly: “The power of darkness rules at this hour, in order to fulfill what the prophets wrote about me in the inspired scriptures.”

Suddenly, all the friends of Jesus panicked & began to run away.  One young onlooker had only a linen cloth for a garment.  When the guards tried to arrest him, he ran right out of his clothes & left them holding his garment!

 

(204) Matthew 26:47-56, Mark 14:43-52, Luke 22:47-53, John 18:1-11