Denial

While Jesus was inside being accused, Peter was still sitting outside in the courtyard with a group of people (206).

One of the High Priest’s servant girls came & said to him, “You were with Jesus of Galilee.” But Peter denied this openly. “I don’t know what you’re talking about,” he said, and he moved away toward the entrance of the courtyard.

denial 4

Another servant girl saw him & told the men there, “He was with Jesus of Nazareth.” Again Peter denied it, exclaiming, “I swear, I don’t know that man!”

After a little while some other men confronted Peter. “You must be one of Jesus’ followers,” they said. “You’ve got that same Galilean accent.” A third time Peter denied it, saying, “I swear I’m telling the truth! May God punish me if I’m not! I don’t know that man!”

At that very moment, a rooster crowed.  Jesus turned & looked outside, directly into Peter’s eyes. Instantly, Peter remembered that Jesus had said he would deny him that very night!  Peter could not look at Jesus; amazed at himself, he could only turn away.

denial 3

Then Peter left the courtyard, weeping bitterly.

 

(206) Matthew 26:69-75, Mark 14:66-72, Luke 22:54-62, John 18:15-18 & 25-2