The Peace Of The Spirit

After he had eaten the fish, Jesus began to teach his friends (221).  “All these things that have happened are the very things I told you about before I was executed.  Everything written about me in the law of Moses, the writings of the prophets & the psalms had to be fulfilled.”

Jesus went on to open their minds to understand the inspired scriptures, saying, “This is what is written: the Messiah must suffer & must rise from death three days later.

“In my name, as my ambassadors, you must preach the message of repentance & forgiveness of sins to all nations, beginning here in Jerusalem. You are my chosen witnesses.

“I will send you the power promised by God so you can do this.  Wait here in Jerusalem until God’s power comes upon you.”

Holy Spirit

Finally, Jesus said to them again, “Be filled with peace. As God sent me, so now I am sending you.”

Then Jesus breathed new life into them and said, “Receive the Holy Spirit. Let him fill your heart & take charge of your lives!

breath

“Tell people everywhere that God will forgive their sins against him!  And warn them of the danger of rejecting God’s forgiveness.”

 

(221) Luke 24:44-49, John 20:21-23