Thomas

Thomas, one of the twelve chosen witnesses, was not there when Jesus came (222). When he joined them later the other witnesses told him, “We have seen Jesus!”

Thomas said to them, “Unless I put my finger on the scars of the nails in his hands & put my hand on the wound in his side, I will not believe.”

A week later the witnesses were together again behind locked doors; this time Thomas was with them. Again, Jesus appeared suddenly among them & said, “Be filled with peace.”

Jesus turned to Thomas & said, “Put your finger here, and look at my hands; then put your hand in my side. Stop doubting & believe.” Then Thomas did believe & exclaimed, “My Master & my God!”

thomas

Jesus replied with this promise: “Do you believe because you see me? Many people will believe without seeing me & they will be blessed by God for their faith.”

John the Witness wrote down many accounts of events in the life & ministry of Jesus.  He wanted his readers to believe that Jesus is the Messiah of God.  He wanted you to have new life by believing in Jesus.

At the end of his account of the life & ministry of Jesus, John also testified that Jesus did many other miracles which were not written down.

 

(222) John 20:24-31