Peter

The encounter by Lake Tiberias was the third time Jesus met with his closest friends after he had risen from death (225).

After they had eaten the fish & bread, Jesus said, “Peter, do you love me more than these others do?” “Yes, Master,” Peter  answered, “you know that I love you.” Jesus told him, “Then take care of my lambs.”

peter's-renewal

A little later, Jesus again asked him, “Peter, do you love me?” “Yes, Master,” he answered, “you know that I love you.” Jesus said to him, “Then take care of my sheep.”

Still later, Jesus asked a third time, “Peter, do you love me?” Peter was frustrated that Jesus asked him the same question a third time.  So he replied, “Master, you know everything; you know that I love you!” Jesus said to him, “Then take care of my sheep.

“When you were young, you used to go anywhere you wanted to.  But when you’re old, you’ll stretch out your hands & people will tie you up & take you where you don’t want to go.”  (In saying this, Jesus was indicating the way in which Peter would eventually die, bringing glory to God.)

jesusandpete

Then Jesus said to Peter, “Always follow me.” Peter turned around & saw John the Witness, and he asked Jesus, “Master, what about him?” Jesus answered him, “If I want John to live until I return to the earth, what does that matter to you?  Your only job is to concentrate on following me.”

Subsequently, a rumor spread among the followers of Jesus that John wouldn’t die.  But Jesus never said John wouldn’t die.  All Jesus said was, “If I want John to live until I return to the earth, what does that matter to you?”

 

(225) John 21:14-25

Feel free to leave a comment.

